Hayden said 8 years, 8 months ago:

I tried posting this in the Q-n-A, but it wouldn’t go through for some reason. So I’m starting a topic here instead.
This is my first time really seeking for such help, so I’ll do my best at being clear and specific.
3 years ago, I was introduced to someone by a friend. The person is someone my friend knew through the Internet, so that’s how I met her; by making an account on a chat-service so we could talk.
We hit it off immediately. We found that we have lots of things in common, and we instantly became best friends.
Over the next few days, we began liking each other and after only 10 days of knowing each other, we decided to start a long distant relationship.
Now, things haven’t always been perfect in our relationship. In the beginning, I failed at being there for her. We both failed at being open and honest with each other. We basically failed to be a well-functioning couple. But we made it through.
Just last year, though, was when things really started falling apart. It was the beginning of the end. She cheated on me for months, from the beginning of summer, and she didn’t tell me until around the New Year of this year. I didn’t give up on her, for multiple reasons. 1, I love her and 2, she’s suicidal and I’ve always been afraid of leaving her, because she says she can’t live without me. She’s always told me that she would kill herself if I left her, whether by death or by choice.
I convinced myself that we could fix things, and that we could make it through because we’ve been able to make it through everything.
Things got better… for awhile.
We started talking about a future together. Something that scared me, because along the way, I realized I was only staying with her because I didn’t want her to kill herself. Yes, I love her, but I wasn’t happy with where I was. Being in a relationship with her has impacted my mental state, my social life, and my freedom.