Hopefullylesspretentious said 9 years, 2 months ago:

Damn, I don’t look at this group for a month and suddenly I’m an admin, the old admin stopped deleting everything on the forum page, and then left the group. I need to go read all of your stories. But I digress. Hi. My name is [insert username here]. Welcome to the group.
“How is this different from venting?” you may ask. The problem with venting is that the listener isn’t already aware of everything, and can only get a glimpse into a small portion of your life. This kind of stops them from understanding the bigger picture. Few people want to stick around in a chat for a lengthy life story. It’s also a bit unfair to try to tell someone something that long without them requesting it. Despite this, we all want to be understood, to have someone see our point of view on issues and not just talk about a less significant problem. We’re asking you to tell us your stories when you come here so that you have a chance for that kind of empathy. To have someone really understand everything that goes into the way you think, and be supportive in a way that works for you because they understand what you need. Few of us ever have a chance to have someone know the whole story, and there’s rarely a time that it would be reasonable to sit and explain it all. There’s certainly no one in my life that has ever known the full extent of what I’ve been through. So, here’s that opportunity. Sit down. Take a while, lay out as much as you think is important for someone to know. We’re ready to listen and we’re not going to judge. Cheers.

Hopefullylesspretentious said 9 years, 2 months ago:

I also guess I should tell you all my story. Oh well. It’s a bit long winded, and definitely more than a bit pretentious and arrogant. My apologies for coming across that way. Anyways…