Lady Lionhead said 10 years, 4 months ago:

I just feel like I’ve always been taken advantage of for being too honest, nice, naive, or gullible. Like to survive in this world, and truly thrive, you have to be a liar; you can’t be someone like me, who sees the best in people or gives people the benefit of the doubt. There have been many times when being honest or nice has come back to bite me in the ass, and I’m just starting to wonder if it’s worth it. For example:

I worked as a bank teller once, and during a rush I accidentally gave one of my customers too much money. Thinking it was my mistake and that I should pay for it, I paid for it out of my own pocket. Little did I know that this was called “floating” and was punishable by termination. I tried to explain that I wasn’t trying to “float” I was just trying to be a good person and own my mistake, and that no one explained “floating” to me before they started me working. No one cared. They just fired me.

Example #2: I worked at a fast food joint called Charley’s. I made bacon cheese french fries for a customer, the customer never came back for them and they were already paid for, so I offered the french fries for free to the next person in line, thinking it was no big deal and that food shouldn’t be wasted. Instantly fired for that too, as well as banned from working with the company the chain was under.

Example #3:
Asked if I ever committed a crime on a form, and I admitted to a misdemeanor where I had accidentally walked out of a store with a pair of $9 accessory earrings in my hands, and was fined $200, thinking that if I didn’t mention it they would find it in a background check and I would get in trouble. Ended up having to pay a lawyer $900 to clear the whole thing up, only to find out misdemeanors didn’t matter.

Example #4:
Had a boyfriend who was a sociopath who manipulated, lied, and scarred me for life, then left me like I was nothing.

Example #5: