Mark said 10 years, 10 months ago:

What do you want to do? Research? Counseling? What is it?

I personally am interested in doing crisis counseling. I’m interested in working in inpatient units in hospitals (specifically for adolescents) or working/volunteering for suicide hotlines. I think I have a knack for helping people who are contemplating suicide or find themselves in dark places. I have absolutely no interest in research psychology, but I respect those that do.

Deleted User said 10 years, 10 months ago:

I currently have a job in computer programming and I do counselling in my free time. I have a diploma in counselling. I enjoy a mix of situations. Due to family history alcoholism and mental illness are dear to my heart and I would really like to make a difference volunteering in my community. I have to free up more time to do this successfully though.

Sentinel said 10 years, 10 months ago:

I am personally torn between therapy and research

Nehal said 10 years, 10 months ago:

I would like to teach Psychology instead of working in clinical settings

Diana said 10 years, 10 months ago:

Psychotherapy – I’ve already sort of started as a volunteer and I’m getting my qualification soon. But I recently noticed I enjoyed counseling just as much :)

Diana said 10 years, 10 months ago:

@Sentinel – don’t worry, you can do research within your therapy practice too! Or research therapy-related topics – that’s very much needed, with all the difficulties in researching something like this scientifically. Good luck!

SecretlyLiza said 10 years, 10 months ago:

I recently graduated high school and in the fall I will begin college majoring in Child Psychology.

bricheese said 10 years, 10 months ago:

I think I want to go more research based or clinical even, just so I can be in neuroscience just because that interests me a lot. Ideally I’d love to be a professor so I could do my own research but a person can dream :)

Ruhoodenough said 10 years, 10 months ago: