Kimberly said 9 years, 12 months ago:

So i am a high school student and i have been struggling quite badly for a while now. Not long ago i was in a really bad place and it was so bad that my teacher (english lit) noticed me. Almost everyday she had been asking me if i was alright and making sure that everything was okay. It was one study class where she cam up to me and that day was particularly bad and she started to ask me what was wrong. Of course i was at a vulnerable stage and said that everything was overwhelming and i felt like crap. I then told her that i honestly didn’t know what was wrong with me, i didn’t know why i felt so horrible.

As time went on, we had to submit our class journals to the teacher and mine-at the back- had a section where i vented (i was meant to take that out in all seriousness!) but at that time i was in a really busy state of mind and it totally escaped my head. She found it and said that she was really worried for me and that if i needed to talk she was there. Of course i did, but talking to a teacher (even though i’ve had her for 4 1/2 years) it seemed awkward. But eventually about a month later i went and asked to talk to her, she was almost delighted that i asked and said yes. We proceeded to talk that afternoon during another of my classes; which she went on to say that given what i was writing in my journal (very annoyed that she read it) and my mood lately that i had depression- she said that she’s no psychologist but that i should talk to someone.