Evergreen said 9 years, 12 months ago:

I’m sure many of you know who the Pope is but what is his role in Catholicism? Now, I’m not catholic but I’m going to use my knowledge to help give a better basic understanding. =)

Basically, the Pope is the leader of the catholic church and ruler of Vatican City, he resides in the Sistine Chapel. He is considered the successor of Saint Peter who was an apostle of Christ and the first Pope of the Catholic church. A visible representative of god on earth, though he does not replace or stand for god. His words are regarded as the final say on various social, ethical and legal issues surrounding the catholic church (gay marriage for example). Most importantly to many, he is a sign of unity by being the true word of all Catholics around the world. The Pope wears a special ring called the Ring of the Fishermen, it bears the official papal seal. followers kneel and kiss during a papal audience. Saint Peter was a fisherman by trade. Importantly, the Pope does not have to wear the ring and he can also give it to anyone he wishes.

Now in case you’re wondering how a new Pope is elected, I’ll explain it.