V said 10 years, 5 months ago:

Hi, I’d like to know what kinds of artists are out there. Even if you’re just an artist in your free time or as a hobby.
What do you struggle with as an artist? Do you have any advice for other aspiring artists?

I am a pianist, I’ve been studying for 20 years and I love to play the piano. Recently I’ve struggled with the idea of performance. It seems very selfish. All the self promotion, the schmoozing, I just can’t get behind it. I think I’m better suited to use music in my life for my own purposes, and so far I’ve been happy this way.

How about you?

Brigid said 10 years, 4 months ago:

The only thing in art I can actually do is calligraphy. The rest I totally suck at. But calligraphy is just awesome.

prorecluse said 10 years, 1 month ago:

I am like a random artist. I take up random creative outlets and they usually fall away and come back into my life at random. I do sketching, painting, pyrography, writing(if you count that as artistic).. The one that has stuck most permanently without gaps in my participation is photography. I’ve been doing photography and photo illustration/manipulation for about 18 years.

Meera said 10 years, 1 month ago:

BOOK COVERS! On the computer! And I take my own pictures for them! :D I can sort-of draw using paper/pencil…

NicNac said 10 years, 1 month ago:

I’ve done everything from oil, acrylic, and watercolor paintings; charcoal, and pastels, graphite, and even digital media such as advertising designs, and photography. I guess I’m pretty well rounded when it comes to using different media. I’d like to learn about doing more 3D and sculptural work though!

Kristine said 10 years ago:

I do sketches of people and animals, mostly horses or birds, I also do photography of nature. I play the oboe, piano, hand bells, and hand chimes

Deleted User said 9 years, 6 months ago: