md235 said 7 years, 6 months ago:

(Note: I wrote this when I was feeling frustrated and angry, so if any of this offends you, I apologize.)

I know people say that having any job is better than no job, but I strongly disagree.
I work at Walmart and everyday I’m there, I want to kill myself. I have a BA (albeit in a useless major), but I work as a cashier.

I don’t make enough to move out, so I’m stuck living at home.

At least if I didn’t have a job, I’d have all the time in the world to find a decent one that pays well and to work on my hard skills (programming and putting my code up on GitHub), but because I’m working, my time is limited and I can’t apply to as many jobs as I would like. And worse, when I did get an interview a few weeks ago, I was told I wasn’t confident enough.

And I know that having a gap on your resume is bad, but I think working at a minimum wage job for so long when you have a degree can look bad too.

I’m treated like crap on a daily basis, and this in turn effects my self esteem and confidence. It doesn’t help that I look young for my age (I’m 26). Everyone treats me like a dumb teenager, despite the fact that I’m a college educated adult.

I have needs and wants that I want to fulfill, but never can because this job doesn’t afford me to, and no one wants to hire me. I want/need:

* Friends

* To get laid (still a virgin)

* To get proper therapy

* To move out

* To join a gym

* To get a livable wage

* To move to a big city

I was going to teach English in Japan (Note: I’ve lived in Japan before), but I can’t meet many of the needs above if I do. I know if I go, my speaking will improve, but making friends where I am now is hard enough; Japanese people aren’t exactly the most open.

Getting laid might be the easiest on my list, but it still could be a problem. Being in a small town, girls might not be as open about being with a foreigner. Even if they do, remember, Japanese people aren’t exactly the most open.