Deleted User said 10 years, 4 months ago:

I am disabled. Even though I tell them I do volunteer work and own my own free website, they leave me. So many men judge me by what I do for a living.

How do you cope with feelings of rejection?

I just told a guy that it was over because he asked that question. I said I did not want to discuss it. I ended it. Too many of them drop me because I don’t work.

I wanted to get it over with and end it before he could reject me. I am so tired of it.

I know that I am okay even though I don’t make a living, but I am tired of being rejected for it.

I know what to say to them. “I don’t get paid.” But how do you put up with rejection after rejection after rejection? It hurts. It does affect my self-esteem. And it obviously affected the way I handled that last person.

I am disabled and a student. I take care of my bills with my student grants/scholarships/loans.

I also volunteer though, as I can.

So I usually just tell them self-employed, since I work odd jobs.

Ben said 10 years, 4 months ago:

Tell them you’re a ninja and refuse to divulge any further information :)

wisewoman said 10 years, 4 months ago:

Tell your date about your employment situation right away. If they are the sort of person that cares about that kind of thing, then you will know up front and you will give them an opportunity to opt out of any potential relationship. That way you can avoid possible rejection after you begin to develop feelings for the other person.

good answers, ppl. :)

I could tell someone that I am self-employed. Or maybe a student. Or better yet, what wisewoman said. It’s a risk, but at least I won’t keep hanging and wondering when they will leave. thanks. PC

Diana said 10 years, 4 months ago: