Ambifish said 9 years, 7 months ago:

I apologize for the long post. This is something that has weighed on me for years and I feel it warrants giving as much detail as I can.

After I graduated high school, a couple of old classmates got a hold of me and asked if I’d be interested in hanging out with them. Even though we’d had plenty of exchanges in school, we were never that close in high school, so I thought it was suspicious they would call out of the blue just to “hang out.” One of them was pretty popular in school and the other almost the complete opposite (not unpopular, but what some would consider weird,) which was also odd. I was never popular in high school and didn’t have a lot of friends so I figured what the hell. I even brought my younger brother along for safety. Oddly enough, the four of us really hit it off and became really good friends. We had some really great times together.

It wasn’t long before the popular one began singling me out. I knew he was a playboy and kept my brother around at all times just to avoid being alone with him. As time passed, we got close enough for me to trust him to be alone with. We weren’t the best of friends or anything but we shared our day to day lives with one another. At one point, he had the audacity to make me promise not to fall in love with him. He admitted I was one of few people he felt he could confide in and didn’t want to ruin our relationship. Sure, whatever, no problem.

For all I know it was all a lie to gain my trust but anyway…

He knew I was in a very complicated relationship with someone who’d been my best friend through high school. We had broken up and tried to stay friends, but it wouldn’t last. One day, we’d gotten into a huge fight and decided being friends was just impossible. It broke my heart and I became depressed. This happened about two years later.