awesomefreak said 10 years, 10 months ago:

In my family we don’t practice any religion, we’re all atheists, and when I was in elementary school I just didn’t understand who or what god was.
This led to bullying from my classmates since I studied in a very conservative school, I was isolated by my classmates and sometimes beat up for not believing in something I just found unreal.
Even now I get secluded or acussed at for that reason but I’ve learned to overlook it.

WhereEaglesDare said 10 years, 10 months ago:

Religion as a whole does it’s best to break you if you do not believe. The fact you were bullied proves that. You were strong enough to stand your ground and that is any religions worst nightmare. They don’t like evidence that may prove them wrong, all they have is a sunset and say “What other than God could have created such a magnificent event?” I respect anyone’s beliefs, but if you have to resort to bullying to get your point across, you just lose any credibility. You are not alone, but it does suck ass feeling like second class citizens because we don’t believe. No one should have to go through what you did, but the sad fact is, they will. Our day will come. :)

Sentinel said 10 years, 10 months ago:

I lucked out and my mom just stopped taking me to church because if the fits I would throw. When she later put me into sunday school, I was threatened with hell. I was young, probably around 8, mortified by the idea of death and an eternity of pain.

I lucked out in that I went to a public school as well I grew to be incredibly tall compared to my classmates. Today, I don’t take that faith based bullying crap by any definitional of the word. We have one tremendous advantage; the tool that religion has constantly thrown under the bus: reason.

I think it is admirable that you weathered such a storm. Keep heart. Like @imagine6996 said, a day will dawn where you need not have such fears

Deleted User said 10 years, 10 months ago: